New Funding

Deepak Voora and Geoff Ginsburg were awarded an internal grant from the Translating Duke Health Initiative. They will also work with Pam Douglas. The goal will be to use whole exome and RNA-sequencing to identify genes/pathways associated with normal coronary arteries despite a high border of genetic and clinical risk factors for atherosclerosis. This study will analyze samples and data banked from participants of the PROMISE randomized clinical trial.

Ricardo Henao was awarded a Subcontract through Vigilant Medical. The title of his project is "Attention mechanism based deep learning model to identify obstructive CAD."

Susanne Haga was awarded an R25 grant from NIH for an undergraduate summer program for underrepresented minority students. She is collaborating with GCB Director Greg Wray. The “Summer Scholars Program in Genome Sciences and Medicine” is supported by the National Human Genome Research Institute.

Alex Limkakeng was awarded a grant from the Emergency Medicine Foundation. He will be working with co-Investigator Ephrain Tsalik and Ricardo Henao.  The project is entitled “MicroRNAs to Identify Myocardial Ischemia During Stress Testing In The Emergency Department.”

Micah McClain was awarded an R21 grant from NIH for a project entitled "Host-derived biomarker signatures to differentiate acute viral, bacterial, and fungal infection."